2018 WESPY Awards Nominees Announced Along With A Few Winners

Nominees for the 13th annual Windsor Essex Sports Persons of the Year (WESPY) awards and several winners were announced during a breakfast-press conference held at Grill 55 Restaurant on Tuesday morning, March 6, 2018.

Several nominees were present during the announcement including nominees Kyle Breitner, Melanie Cardinal, Karlie Moore and Jim Morgan (pictured above from left to right).

In addition this year’s female and male legacy award recipients (Marilyn Hollan and Eddie Chittaro), Sports Community Service Award recipients (Rob McIntyre of Holy Names H.S.) and Knobby Knudsen Volunteers of the Year winners (Melanie Cardinal of Sandwich S.S., Egidio Mosca of Caboto Club Soccer, and Jim Morgan of The Windsor Clippers) were revealed.

The annual WESPY’s banquet and awards ceremony pays tribute to the Windsor Essex sports community including athletes, coaches and administrators from all disciplines.

For the first time gymnastics will be a recognized sporting category at the event. To celebrate this year’s keynote speaker is gold medalist, Romanian-born Nadia Elena Comăneci, the first gymnast in history to score a perfect 10 during competition while at the 1976 Olympic Summer Games in Montreal.

The 13th Annual WESPY Awards is set to take place at the Caboto Club on Tuesday, March 20, 2018. For more information or to purchase tickets visit: http://www.thewespys.ca

Female Nominees for the 13th Annual WESPY Awards

Dennis Fairall Track & Field Award

Karlie Moore – Sandwich S.S. / Border City Athletics Club
Jasmine Scott – Kilgo – Sandwich S.S. / Border City Athletics Club
Chloe Walker – Vincent Massey S.S. / Windsor Legion

Ed Jovanovski Hockey Award

Kristen Swiatoschik – Southwest Wildcats / St. Thomas of Villanova H.S.
Krystin Lawrence – Windsor Lancers
Savannah Bouzide – Southwest Wildcats/ General Amherst S.S.

Softball Award

Madisyn Clark – St. Clair College
Megan Lumley – St. Clair College
Lauryn Debono – Windsor Wildcats

Soccer Award

Emma Collins – St. Anne H.S.
Melanie Jubenville – St. Clair College
Jade Samping – Holy Names H.S. / East Side Kickers / Windsor Lancers

Tim Hommel Volleyball Award

Paige Phills – Riverside S.S. / South County Bandits
Caylee Parker – Riverside S.S. / Genesis Volleyball Club
Carleigh Bailey – Windsor Lancers

Swimming Award

Maddie McDonald – Windsor Aquatic Club / Walkerville S.S.
Julia Marcuzzi – Windsor Essex Swim Team / Tecumseh Vista Academy
Maddy Lavoie – Windsor Essex Swim Team / Leamington District H.S.

Parasport Athletes Award

Corbin Watson – Essex – Kent Ice Bullets
Jessica Matassa – Essex – Kent Ice Bullets
Matthew Debly – Rugby Canada

Wrestling Award

Jessica Hodgkin – Sandwich S.S. / Windsor Wrestling Club
Ella Doornaert – Sandwich S.S. / Windsor Wrestling Club
Brooke Fletcher – Tecumseh Vista Academy / Windsor Wrestling Club

Golf Award

Melanie Burgess – Windsor Lancers / Roseland Golf and Curling Club
Jasmine Ly – Kingsville Golf C.C. / Holy Names H.S.
Meagan Schauer – Essex Golf and C.C.

Basketball Award

Emily Prevost – Windsor Lancers
Lucia McElwain – Essex District H.S.
Shannon Kennedy – St. Clair College


Alexandra Jubenville – Winstars Gymnastics
Lindsay Chia – Rose City Gymnastics
Daniel Hodare – Windsor Alpha Gymnastics Academy

Male Nominees for the 13th Annual WESPY Awards

Dennis Fairall Track & Field Award

Tyler Jones – Sandwich S.S. / St.Clair College
Corey Bellemore – Windsor Lancers
Noah Costa – Vincent Massey S.S. / Windsor Legion

Ed Jovanovski Hockey Award

Michael DiPietro – Windsor Spitfires
Liam MacDougall – Lasalle Vipers
Tyler Scott – Essex 73’s

Soccer Award

Jamar Kelly – Windsor TFC
Korede Adepitan – St. Clair College
Kyle Vizirakis – Windsor Lancers / Windsor TFC

Baseball Award

Jack Zimmerman – Windsor Jr. Selects / Windsor Lancers
Connor McKenna – St. Clair Green Giants
Kyle Breitner – St. Clair College / Tecumseh Thunder Sr.s

Tim Hommel Volleyball Award

John Moate – Windsor Lancers
Brad Gyemi – Windsor Lancers
Jorden Fehr – Leamington District H.S.

Swimming Award

Luca Chandussi – Windsor Essex Swim Team / Villanova S.S.
Samuel Zang – Windsor Essex Swim Team / Maranatha Academy
Ethan Fazekas – Windsor Aquatic Club

Gino Fracas Football Award

Daniel Metcalfe – Windsor Lancers
Michael Herzog – Holy Names H.S.
Brandon Reaume – Windsor AKO Fratmen
Adam Slikboer – Windsor AKO Fratmen

Wrestling Award

Dante DeLuca – Holy Names H.S. / Essex Wrestling Club
Alex Dufour – L’Essor H.S. / L’Essor Wrestling Club
Anthony Papia – Sandwich S.S. / Windsor Wrestling Club

Golf Award

Thomas DeMarco – Essex Golf and C.C.
James Hill – Beach Grove Golf & CC
Bryce Evon – Roseland Golf and Curling Club / Windsor Lancers


Ali Mansour – Kennedy Collegiate
Mike Rocca – Windsor Lancers
Maurice Jones – Windsor Express

Horseman Award

Tim Myers
Gord McDonnell
Lindsey Kerr

Major Award Nominees for the 13th Annual WESPY Awards

Coach of the Year

Rocky Thompson – Windsor Spitfires
Dave Cooper – St. Clair College / St.Clair Green Giants
Rob McIntyre – Holy Names S.S.

Female Athlete of the Year

Kristen Swiatoschik – Villanova H.S. / Southwest Wildcats
Emily Prevost – Windsor Lancers
Karlie Moore – Sandwich S.S. / Border City Athletics Club

Male Athlete of the Year

Mike Dipietro – Windsor Spitfires
Andrew Garant – Windsor Clippers Lacrosse
Lionel Sanders – Tri – athlete / Ironman Competitor

Ken Dryden Executive of the Year Award

John Savage – Memorial Cup Committee / Windsor Spitfires
Maladen Moric – Windsor Essex County Soccer
Carey Vigneaux – Winstars Gymnastics

Mickey Renaud Captain’s Leadership Award

Adam Slikboer – Windsor AKO Fratmen Football
Amanda Simke – Windsor Lancers Softball
Shannon Kennedy – St. Clair College

Team of the Year

Holy Names H.S. Football
St. Clair College Men’s Baseball
Windsor Spitfires Hockey

Knobby Knudsen Female Volunteer of the Year

Melanie Cardinal – Sandwich S.S.

Knobby Knudsen Male Volunteer of the Year

Egidio Mosca – Caboto Club Soccer
Jim Morgan – Windsor Clippers

McTague Law Firm Award for Courage and Determination


John DeNapoli Sports Community Service Award

Rob McIntyre – Holy Names H.S.

Female Legacy Award

Marilyn Holland

Unifor Local 444 & 2458 Male Legacy Award

Eddie Chittaro

Dominic Papa

Dominic Papa, founder of the WESPY Awards, holds up an award during a press conference announcing the 2018 nominees on Tuesday morning, March 6, 2018. Photo by Eric Bonnici / Eyes On Windsor.

Update / Related Article:

2018 WESPY Awards Winners Honoured At Biggest Most Diverse Ceremony Yet

WESPY Awards Event Page