Teajai Travis Among 2018 Windsor Endowment For The Arts Nominees

Members of the arts community have been announced as 2018 Windsor Endowment For The Arts (WEA) Awards and Grants nominees. In addition, the City of Windsor Mayor’s Arts Awards nominees have also been announced. Several local individuals and organizations, including poet and Bloomfield House founder Teajai Travis, will be honoured at a ceremony where this year’s award and grant recipients will be revealed. The WEA ceremony happening in unison with the Mayor’s Arts Awards is set to take place at the WFCU Centre on Thursday, May 24, 2018.

(Photo Above: Windsor Endowment for the Arts 2018 nominee, Terrance “Teajai” Travis, poet and founder of The Bloomfield House, shown drumming during the Spinning Music in the Park event at Mackenzie Hall in Windsor, Ontario, on Sunday, August 23, 2015. Photo by Jose Ed Ramirez / Eyes On Windsor.)

In addition to The WEAs Awards and Grants and the Mayor’s Arts Awards, WEA will present the Windsor Endowment for the Arts Record of Achievement Award to Dr. Alan Wildeman, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Windsor for his “positive and lasting impact on the arts that extends far beyond the physical boundaries of the university, its students and faculty. He has contributed both to the growth of arts, at the same time, helped position the city for positive urban renewal. The positive impact of actions and projects which were completed under his tenure and because of his leadership will continue for years to come,” said Sheila Geddes, President, Windsor Symphony Orchestra.

Dr. Alan Wildeman

Windsor Endowment for the Arts Record of Achievement Award recipient, Dr. Alan Wildeman, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Windsor, speaking during the India Canada Association of Windsor and Essex County Gala at the Fogolar Furlan Club in Windsor, Ontario, on Friday, October 10, 2014. Photo by Eric Bonnici / Eyes On Windsor.

2018 WEA Art Leadership Awards & Grants Nominees

2018 WEA Community Arts Leadship Award

SHŌ Art, Spirit and Performance
Windsor Feminist Theatre

2018 WEA Literary Arts Leadship Award

Terrance “Teajai” Travis – poet, founder The Bloomfield House

2018 WEA Performing Arts Leadship Award

Robert Franz – music director Windsor Symphony Orchestra
Kristina Garswood – executive director Riverfront Theatre Company

2018 WEA Visual Arts Leadship Award

Sarah Beveridge – artist, owner SB Contemporary Art
John Jaciw – graphic designer, medallist, sculptor

Emerging Artist Grants

2018 WEA Community Arts Emerging Artist Grant

Nora Franko – visual artist
Melissa Lyons – author, publisher
Tia Nicoletti – founder Windsor Circus School
Sierra Parr – writer, director

2018 WEA Literary Arts Emerging Artist Grant

Jon Flieger
Kate Hargreaves
Amilcar John Nogueira
Mark Olejniczak

2018 WEA Performing Arts Emerging Artist Grant

David Bergeron – music producer, composer, performer
Coffee House Combo – jazz band
Alyssa Epp – lyric soprano
Michael J. Krym – actor, playwright
Rebecca S. Mickle – soprano
Christian Vegh – guitarist, songwriter

2018 WEA Visual Arts Lois Smedick Emerging Artist Grant

Mitchell Branget – filmmaker
Luis Cisneros – visual artist
Dianne Clinton – mixed media artist
Stephen Drouin – fashion designer
Chelsea Greenwall – visual artist
Jesse Hebert – photographer
Christy Litster – designer/illustrator
Luke Maddaford – visual artist
Asaph Maurer – visual artist
Shawna Munro – visual artist
Vanessa Neily – fine craftsperson
Sasha Opeiko – visual artist
Svjetlana Oppen – filmmaker
Jay Raven – visual artist
Jude Abu Zaineh – visual artist

Arts Infrastructure Grants

2018 WEA Community Arts Infrastructure Grant

Art Attack Windsor Project
Canadian Mental Health Association
Downtown Windsor Community Collaborative
Film Camp for Kids and Youth
Sun Parlour Players, The Bank Theatre
Terrance “Teajai” Travis, Black Box Theatre
The Garden Gallery
Vanguard Youth Arts Collective

2018 WEA Literary Arts Infrastructure Grant

Literary Arts Windsor
Windsor International Writers
Windsor Poetry Slam
Woodbridge Farm Writers Residency

2018 WEA Performing Arts Infrastructure Grant

4th Wall Music
Abridged Opera
Arts Collective Theatre
County Classic Chorale
Hugh Leal – jazz concert risk promoter
Kelly Daniels – actor, producer
Music Moves Kids
Revolution Youth Theatre
Riverfront Theatre Company
Tall Tale Theatre Company
The Diplomats Drum & Bugle Corps
Windsor Circus School
Windsor Dance eXperience

2018 WEA Visual Arts Infrastructure Grant

Canadian Arts Productions
Communication Student Association, University of Windsor
Greg DeHetre, R.W. Studios
Jason Allison, Walkerville Collegiate Institute
Leamington Arts Centre
Left Contemporary
Nancy Papak, Belle River District High School
Paul Murray – visual artist
SB Contemporary Art
The Artists of Colour

Additional 2018 WEA Grants

Eliabeth Havelock Grant In The Arts

Erin Armstrong – soprano
Kiki Athanassiadis – visual artist
Judy Chappus – visual artist
Sara Fontaine – singer, musician
Steven Langlois – French educational performer
Douglas MacLellan – photographer
Julie Sando – visual artist
Vanessa Shields – author, poet

Morris And Beverly Baker Foundation Youth Grant In The Arts

Kaley Beecroft – visual artist
Felicity Cincurak – pianist
Alexandria Masse – visual artist
Sabrina Sisco – photographer
Tess Snaden – visual artist
Hrista Stefanova – visual artist

Eric Jackman Youth Grant In The Arts

Corinne Garrett – visual artist

City of Windsor Mayor’s Arts Awards

Windsor Mayor’s Arts Organization Award

Nancy John’s Gallery
WCCB – Music Express
Arts Council of Windsor & Region
The Association of Representational Artists

Windsor Mayor’s Arts Artist Organization Award

Dan Savoie-writer and web-publisher/editor
Dr. Bruce Kotowich – chorale conductor
Briana Benore – mural artist
Christian Vegh – guitarist

Windsor Mayor’s Arts Volunteer Organization Award

Peter Wasylyk – past Board Member, Art Gallery of Windsor

Congratulations to all of this year’s WEA Awards and Grants, and Mayor’s Arts Awards, nominees.

For more information visit the Windsor Endowment For The Arts website or Mayor’s Arts Awards web page.

Award and grant recipients will be announced during the Windsor Endowment for the Arts Biennial Awards & Grants Ceremony set to take place on May 24, 2018.